Clarion Write-a-thon…and incentive

I posted about this last week, but here’s the official scoop:

Some of you may have heard of the Clarion writing workshop, which has been running for 42 years and has turned out many bestselling and award-winning writers. Funding has been cut for the program this year, and so Clarion has responded by running a “Write-a-Thon” to ensure that the workshop can continue. I am one of the participating writers, and I’m looking for people who are willing to sponsor me.

What this entails is making a small PayPal donation via my profile page, which can be found at the following link: http://www.theclarionfoundation.org/writeathon/wrtn-writerpage.php?writerID=7008

Even a $5 donation helps Clarion tremendously and qualifies me for all kinds of prizes. Sponsors like you also have the option of joining the Write-a-Thon forums, tracking my progress, and cheering me on during this six-week event.

Now, I’m going to add my own bribery. My goal is to edit my novel-in-progress, Haven to professional levels. It’s a fairly intensive process, given the content of the book. Having people cheering me on will help a *lot*.

So, anyone who donates even $1 will have the chance to win a prize from me. Either books, jewelry or even a small painting. I’ve got a lot of things to offer here:

1.) A signed copy of Rigor Amortis (will ship later this year).
2.) A signed copy of Aether Age
3.) One of the books that I receive for review.
4.) A signed, personalized copy of ‘Booklife’, Jeff Vandermeer’s awesome book on the writing life.
5.) A hemp necklace or pair of earrings, made by me.
6.) Anyone who donates over $20 will get the chance to win a package: Either a copy of Rigor Amortis or Aether Age, PLUS a necklace made specifically to the theme of the chosen book.
7.) Everyone who donates will be offered the chance to read Haven before anyone else. I also intend to write an exclusive short story at some point here, which will be something only sponsors get to see.

All money will go to benefit Clarion, which is a program I am quite fond of. If you donate, be sure to comment here, so that I can enter your name in the drawing!

About this entry