Winter Playlist

One of the things I had to get used to as a freelancer/writer/editor: music is 100% a necessity, and a priority. The other thing I had to get used to: not all music works for all applications. Some of my favorite bands drive me insane if I’m trying to work.

That being said, my playlists make no clear sense. Not all of my favorites are on here: KMFDM, NIN, Rammstein, Angels and Agony, among many others, are either absent or poorly represented. But all of the NIN music is from WITH TEETH, and most of my Eisbrecher and Oomph! are in the playlist. There’s no classical music, because I am either listening to all classical or no classical, but I do have some modern, synth-inclusive classical.

Oh, who knows. Basically, I try to build stuff that isn’t too jarring. European techno/industrial is about my best bet, along with softer vocals. Fortunately, I no longer have a problem with English lyrics while I work. Unfortunately, the German lyrics are so familiar they might as well be English, and are almost more distracting. Argh!

What am I listening to right now? Here’s a sampling! (Yes, this is all on one playlist, thank you very much.)

M.I.A
Camouflage
Chris Isaak
Eisbrecher
The Servan
Calexico
ERA
Wolfsheim
Joan Jett
Leonard Cohen
Joachim Witt
Metallica
Angelspit
Rob Dougan
Nightwish
IAMX
System
Steinkind
TATU (shush)
Azhrak
Mesh
L7
Kronos Quartet
Drowning Pool
Ladytron
Gorillaz
Ego Likeness
ASP
Tears For Fears
Korn
Unheilig
Finger 11
Juno Reactor
Kenny Wayne Shepherd
Faith and the Muse
And One
NIN
Rammstein
Porcelain and the Tramps
Exploding Boy
Project Pitchfork
NUL
KMFDM
The Paper Chase
Essence of Mind

Plus about a dozen more.

About this entry